4 Countries That Have Extended Ban On Travellers From India

Spread the love
4 Countries That Have Extended Ban On Travellers From India
4 Countries That Have Extended Ban On Travellers From India

Amidst the Coronavirus situation in India which is still continuing to improve, 4 countries have extended the travel ban on India in the wake of the rapid spread of the Delta variant of the COVID 19 Corona virus.

The Delta variant of Covid-19 which was first reported in October 2020, has now spread to over 100 countries and is being seen as the major reason for the huge rise in Covid-19 cases in many countries including the United Kingdom.

The recent countries to join the list are Canada, the Philippines, Saudi Arabia, and UAE. These countries have extended the ban on travelers from India;


On 20th July, Canada extended the ban on direct flights from India by another 30 days, the ban was about to expire on July 21, but will now remain in place until August 21, 2021. It is the fourth time the ban is being extended since it was first imposed on 22nd April 2021 amid the fears of rising Coronavirus transmission of the Delta variant in the country.

The extension of the ban was “based on public health advice” claimed a release issued on Monday from Health Canada.


Previous week, the Philippines has also announced that it has extended the travel restrictions on 10 countries Including India until 15th August, 2021.

The list of other countries which got banned includes Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand.

The announcement comes amidst the fear of spreading Delta variant and surge in the number of Covid-19 cases in the country.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia has recently announced that the country will open its doors to fully vaccinated tourists, and lift off the ban on entry for tourist visa holders, starting from August 1, 2021.

Furthermore, the country has still not allowed travelers from ‘Red Listed’ countries and also imposed a 3-year travel ban on those citizens who travel to countries on the kingdom’s ‘red list’ in order to curb the rising spread of coronavirus and its newly found variants.

Saudi Arabia has banned travel to or transit for multiple countries including Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates.

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) of the United Arab Emirates has suspended all flights from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka Until August 7, 2021. Moreover, all passengers who have connected through these countries namely, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, or Sri Lanka in the last 14 days will not be accepted to travel from any other point to the UAE.

In the circular issued on 22nd July, 2021, the GCAA also claimed that flight and passenger restrictions from these countries, including India, Pakistan, South Africa, and Indonesia, remain as such.

Other countries on the list includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Liberia, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Uganda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Vietnam and Zambia.

Furthermore. Indians are not permitted to travel to Australia, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Italy, Kuwait, New Zealand, Oman, Singapore.

Please note that France has recently removed India from the red list and fully vaccinated Indians can now travel to France. Germany has also eased travel restrictions for India recently.

Leave a Reply