List of Countries That Have Suspended Flights From India

Spread the love

Countries That Have Suspends Flights From India

Multiple countries across the world including United States, UK, Kuwait, France, Iran and Canada have banned flights from India, stating rising COVID-19 cases in India and the new COVID virus being found in the country. Iran, Kuwait, Indonesia and UAE have also added India to this list of countries that have banned Indian citizens from entering the country.

List of Countries that suspended Flights From India :






Czech Republic



Hong Kong









New Zealand




Saudi Arabia





United Arab Emirates (UAE)

United Kingdom (UK)

Iran President Hassan Rouhani said “The Indian coronavirus is a new threat we face. The Indian virus is more dangerous that the English and Brazilian variants,”. Iran has decided to bar travellers from India and Pakistan from midnight of Sunday.

Kuwait has recently banned flights from India. According to the Kuwaiti directorate general of civil aviation, this ban will be effective from April 24. The statement by Kuwaiti directorate general of civil aviation on Twitter also noted that all those arriving from India directly or via another country will be banned from coming back to Kuwait if they have not spent at least 14 days out of Indian country. Kuwaiti citizens, their first-degree relatives and domestic workers will, however, be allowed to enter the country. Cargo flights will however continue to operate.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has also banned all flights except cargo/freight flights from India for 10 days from April 24 midnight citing higher COVID-19 rise in the country. These regulations can be extended however. The flights between India and UAE will, even though, continue to operate for transportation of passengers. The ones excluded from this ban include citizens of UAE, diplomatic missions appointed by the countries, official delegations from both countries, those on chartered flights and those having the golden residency in United Arab Emirates.

Indonesian government has confirmed to not issue visas to any foreigners who have been in India in the past 14 days to prevent COVID-19 transmission in the country. However, Indonesian citizens entering from India will be allowed to enter the country but will have to follow stricter protocols and quarantine rules. These curbs come after a chartered plane arrived in Indonesia from Chennai(Madras) in India. 12 out of the around 130 passengers onboard had tested positive for COVID-19, according to Indonesian Health Minister Budi Gunadi. The minister added that the samples had been taken for genomic sequencing to identify the virus.

France government has also banned flights from 5 countries in the world that includes India, Brazil, Chile, Argentina, and South Africa. Travelers entering the country France from these 5 countries will have to undergo a mandatory antigen test on arrival at the airport and also a a pre-boarding RT-PCR test from the origin country.

The United States government has issued an advisory recently to all its citizens to avoid travelling to India due to the recent COVID-19 rise in the country. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) claimed “Because of the current situation in India, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk for getting and spreading COVID-19 variants and should avoid all travel to India. If you must travel to India, get fully vaccinated before travel. All travelers should wear a mask, stay 6 feet from others, avoid crowds and wash their hands.”

United Kingdom (UK) has added India to its COVID-19 RED LIST for travelling. There is a mandatory quarantine for 10 days in Hotel for all UK and Irish citizens coming back from India. UK Health Secretary Matt Hancock mentioned the House of Commons that they 103 cases of the Indian COVID-19 variant had been identified in the UK out of which majority are from International Travellers.

Hong Kong has also suspended international flights from mainly 3 countries including India, Pakistan and Philippines from April 20 up to May 2. The concerned officials has decided to ban flights from India after around 50 passengers tested positive for the virus on arrival. According to the new rules in Hong Kong, all passengers arriving in the country will have to produce a COVID-negative RT-PCR report, which should be conducted within 72 hours of arrival.

Singapore is on very HIGH ALERT against the corona virus pandemic. The country has banned all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have traveled to India within the last 14 days from entry or transit via Singapore from April 24. People who have obtained prior permission to enter the city state will also be impacted by this decision. People who recently traveled to India and have not completed the 14-day stay-home notice (SHN) by April 22 midnight will have to complete the additional seven-day SHN at a dedicated facility rather than their homes. This group will have to undergo three PCR tests: when they arrive, on the 14th day of their SHN and before their SHN ends.

The Canadian government has suspended international flights from India and Pakistan for 30 days on April due to the high number in rise in COVID-19 cases in both the countries. The Health Minister Patty Hajdu mentioned that almost half of the people who are testing positive for COVID 19 are those people who are coming from India. Flights from India account for around 18 per cent of the air traffic of Canada. She has also claimed that there are also a majority number of positive cases among those travelling on flights from Pakistan as well. Cargo flights from India and Pakistan will, however, continue since it has least affect on COVID rise.

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced that the number of flights to/from India will be reduced. PM Morrison claimed, “We will also be limiting the departure exceptions for Australians travelling to high-risk countries like India. As time goes on and the pandemic continues to rage, there are countries that are frankly of greater risk than others.”

Leave a Reply