Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar Announced Travel Restrictions

Spread the love
Saudi Arabia Kuwait Oman Bahrain Qatar Announced Travel Restrictions
Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, Qatar Announced Travel Restrictions

In the fear of the Delta variant of COVID19 Coronavirus, multiple gulf countries including Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, and Qatar have extended the travel restrictions and announced new regulations.

Saudi Arabia

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has imposed a 3-year travel ban on citizens who traveling to countries on the kingdom’s ‘red list’ in order to curb the spread of coronavirus and its new variants.

Saudi Arabia has also banned travel to or transit at a number of countries including Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates.


Kuwait has become the latest GCC country to tighten travel restrictions amidst the fear of Covid-19 second wave and the delta variant. The country has imposed a travel ban on unvaccinated citizens from August 1, 2021.

The announcement comes just a few hours after Saudi Arabia announced a three-year travel ban on citizens who travel to countries on the red list.

Kuwait has exempted unvaccinated citizens children under 16 years and those with a health ministry certificate, saying they cannot be vaccinated, as well as pregnant women, who get a pregnancy proof certificate from the concerned authorities.


Oman has extended the nightly Covid-19 lockdown and also extends the travel restrictions from travelers from many countries in order to contain the spread of the COVID19 coronavirus in the country.

The country has already suspended the entry of travelers from 23 countries until further notice.

The red-listed countries include Sudan, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, the United Kingdom, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, the Philippines, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Tunisia, Libya, Argentina, Colombia, and Brunei.

Apart from that, those passengers who have transited through any of the above-mentioned countries in the past 14 days are banned from entering the Sultanate of Oman.


Bahrain Civil Aviation Affairs has updated travel regulations, expanding the number of Red Listed countries, and added 16 more countries to the red list.

Six Asian countries namely India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Vietnam are already on Bahrain’s travel “Red List” as of now.

The newly added countries to the red list includes Dominican, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Panama, the Philippines, South Africa, Tunisia, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Vietnam.

Furthermore, those passengers who transited through the banned countries need to undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine in non-prohibited countries, except for Bahrain citizens and residents.


According to the updated travel policy of Qatar, those passengers who have been inoculated and approved by health authorities, will not be quarantined. But the vaccinated passengers still need to take a COVID19 RT-PCR test before arriving in Qatar.

The new travel policy classifies countries into three categories — green, yellow, and red. A quarantine policy for each category will be applied to those non vaccinated travelers arriving in Qatar accordingly.

All the passengers who are coming to Qatar will also have to pre-register on the “Ehteraz” website and attach all the required documents no less than 12 hours before arrival.

Leave a Reply